Bangladesh Premier League T20
The fourth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League is going to take place in this coming November; BCB Media Committee chairman Jalal Yunus informed about the matter.
BPL Updates
  • Channel 9 got broadcast rights again
  • Rajshahi & Khulna coming back
  • Sylhet SuperStars will not participate in BPL 2016
  • Players draft will be on 30th September
  • BPL 2016 starts from 4th November
Latest topics
» Chittagong Vikings - 2016 Squad
Wed Sep 28, 2016 4:57 pm by Admin

» 168 overseas players added in BPL-4 draft
Wed Sep 28, 2016 4:17 pm by Admin

» 133 cricketers included in the ‘Palyers draft of BPL4
Tue Sep 27, 2016 10:56 pm by Admin

» Gayle goes to Barisal, Afridi to play for Rangpur in the BPL 4
Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:05 pm by Admin

» Dhaka Dynamites - 2016 Squad
Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:45 pm by Admin

» Shakib Al Hasan becomes top icon for BPL
Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:30 pm by Admin

» Comilla Victorians - 2016 Squad
Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:08 pm by Admin

» Rangpur Riders - 2016 Squad
Tue Sep 27, 2016 5:26 am by Admin

» Shakib heads the icon list of BPL 2016
Mon Sep 26, 2016 11:57 pm by Admin


BPL-3 with six teams?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

BPL-3 with six teams?

Post  Admin on Sat Sep 05, 2015 1:11 pm

The Bangladesh Cricket Board, it seems, will settle with six franchises for the third edition of the Bangladesh Premier League, confirmed sources. The money-spinning Twenty20 league earlier came to a halt after the controversial second edition in 2013.

BCB had earlier confirmed Beximco Group as the new owners of Dhaka while sources revealed Royal Sporting Ltd (Sylhet), Axiom Group (Barisal) and DBL Group (Chittagong), I-Sport Ltd (Rangpur) as the other franchises. The sixth franchise has not been locked yet as the question remains as to which Division – Rajshahi or Khulna – will be left out in the case of a six-team tournament.

However, the response wasn’t so poor in the initial stage of the plan which even made the BCB dream of an eight to 10 team tournament. 11 companies had purchased the Expression of Interest while previous owners of Rangpur (Flora Ltd), Khulna (I-Sports) and Sylhet (Royal Sporting) also cleared their dues in order to bid for a team.

But the interest gradually decreased as the BCB is now content with six franchises, one less than the previous edition.


Posts : 429
Points : 1176
Reputation : 8
Join date : 2011-12-23
Age : 23
Location : Dhaka

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum