Bangladesh Premier League T20
The fourth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League is going to take place in this coming November; BCB Media Committee chairman Jalal Yunus informed about the matter.
BPL Updates
  • Channel 9 got broadcast rights again
  • Rajshahi & Khulna coming back
  • Sylhet SuperStars will not participate in BPL 2016
  • Players draft will be on 30th September
  • BPL 2016 starts from 4th November
Latest topics
» Chittagong Vikings - 2016 Squad
Wed Sep 28, 2016 4:57 pm by Admin

» 168 overseas players added in BPL-4 draft
Wed Sep 28, 2016 4:17 pm by Admin

» 133 cricketers included in the ‘Palyers draft of BPL4
Tue Sep 27, 2016 10:56 pm by Admin

» Gayle goes to Barisal, Afridi to play for Rangpur in the BPL 4
Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:05 pm by Admin

» Dhaka Dynamites - 2016 Squad
Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:45 pm by Admin

» Shakib Al Hasan becomes top icon for BPL
Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:30 pm by Admin

» Comilla Victorians - 2016 Squad
Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:08 pm by Admin

» Rangpur Riders - 2016 Squad
Tue Sep 27, 2016 5:26 am by Admin

» Shakib heads the icon list of BPL 2016
Mon Sep 26, 2016 11:57 pm by Admin


Dispute over Dilshan clouds BPL

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Dispute over Dilshan clouds BPL

Post  Admin on Fri Oct 23, 2015 5:48 pm

The Bangladesh Premier League players’ draft did not end without dispute on Thursday as two franchises claimed to have picked Sri Lankan cricketer Tillakaratne Dilshan. The BPL authority allowed teams to pick maximum nine foreign players outside the draft and asked them to submit a list with proper documents. Both Rangpur Riders and Chittagong Vikings included Dilshan in their list, creating confusion.

Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hasan said BPL governing council will now give a ruling over the matter after verifying the documents.

BPL governing council secretary Ismail Haider Mallick said if necessary they will block the player’s participation in this edition.

‘We will look into the matter and have the right to suspend any player from taking part in the tournament,’ said Mallick. ‘It can also happen that a team had paid while the other team could not make it. We cannot comment without judging the documents,’ he said.

Mallick added that teams need to show their agreement papers immediately to make sure they have signed certain cricketer. Sylhet Superstars are the only defaulter so far in this regard as they are yet to submit any document for any player, though the franchise claimed that they have got the signature of Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi, England’s Ravi Bopara, Australia’s Brad Hodge and Sri Lanka’s Ajantha Mendis.

Comilla Victorians claimed to have brought Shoaib Malik and Ahmed Shehzad from Pakistan, Sunil Narine, Marlon Samuels and Krishmar Santokie from West Indies.

Dhaka Dynamites submitted the documents of their correspondence with Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka, Ryan ten Doeschate of Netherlands, Nasir Jamshed, Yasir Shah and Mohammad Irfan of Pakistan.

Barisal Bulls said they have West Indies superstar Chris Gayle at their disposal alongside Zimbabwe’s Brendon Taylor, West Indies’ Kevin Cooper and Evin Lewis.

Chittagong Vikings informed the BPL authority that they have Pakistan’s Mohammad Amir, Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal, Sri Lanka’s Chamara Kapugedara and Elton Chigambura of Zimbabwe.

Rangpur Riders announced that they have picked up former West Indies captain Darren Sammy, opener Lendol Simmons and Sri Lankan all-rounder Thisara Perera.


Posts : 429
Points : 1176
Reputation : 8
Join date : 2011-12-23
Age : 23
Location : Dhaka

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum