Bangladesh Premier League T20
The fourth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League is going to take place in this coming November; BCB Media Committee chairman Jalal Yunus informed about the matter.
BPL Updates
  • Channel 9 got broadcast rights again
  • Rajshahi & Khulna coming back
  • Sylhet SuperStars will not participate in BPL 2016
  • Players draft will be on 30th September
  • BPL 2016 starts from 4th November
Latest topics
» Chittagong Vikings - 2016 Squad
Wed Sep 28, 2016 4:57 pm by Admin

» 168 overseas players added in BPL-4 draft
Wed Sep 28, 2016 4:17 pm by Admin

» 133 cricketers included in the ‘Palyers draft of BPL4
Tue Sep 27, 2016 10:56 pm by Admin

» Gayle goes to Barisal, Afridi to play for Rangpur in the BPL 4
Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:05 pm by Admin

» Dhaka Dynamites - 2016 Squad
Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:45 pm by Admin

» Shakib Al Hasan becomes top icon for BPL
Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:30 pm by Admin

» Comilla Victorians - 2016 Squad
Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:08 pm by Admin

» Rangpur Riders - 2016 Squad
Tue Sep 27, 2016 5:26 am by Admin

» Shakib heads the icon list of BPL 2016
Mon Sep 26, 2016 11:57 pm by Admin


Balanced Riders to prepare for the big stride

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Balanced Riders to prepare for the big stride

Post  Admin on Fri Oct 23, 2015 5:54 pm

The lottery based “Players by Choice” draft system of the third edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) was held yesterday at the Grand Ball Room of the Radisson Blu Water Garden hotel in Dhaka.

Despite the exciting selection procedure of 57 local players and 44 foreign players, icon cricketers grabbed the whole attention of the franchises and the general people as well specially all were looking for the team of the greatest all-rounder of all time in Bangladesh cricket history, Shakib Al Hasan.

The no.1 all-rounder in every format Shakib al Hasan was at the centre of the attention. Every franchise wanted to see Shakib in their team and put up a vigorous chase to have him in the team.

Rangpur Riders had the opportunity to choose their icon player first. And no surprisingly they immediately opted for the left-arm all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan. Apart from the six icon players, a total of 57 local cricketers and 19 foreigners were taken by the franchises in the players’ by choice ceremony yesterday.

However, the most fascinating part of the draft was the lottery of the six icon cricketers. And it was Rangpur who were the luckiest as they purchased Shakib after being drawn first in the lottery.

Followed by Rangpur, Comilla Victorians called for ODI and T20 skipper Mashrafe bin Mortaza, Barisal Bulls took all-rounder Mahmudullah, Chittagong went for national opening batsman and local lad Tamim Iqbal, Sylhet Super Stars bought Tigers’ Test captain Mushfiqur Rahim and Dhaka Dynamites recruited all-rounder Nasir Hossain as their respective icon player of the team.

Apart from Comilla Victorians, all the franchises seemed happy with their icons. Comilla franchise wanted Shakib heartily as their icon player but the luck of the lottery wasn’t in their favor.

Comilla’s owner, Nafisa Kamal, who previously owned the Sylhet franchise, cut a frustrated figure in the draft and according to witnesses, rushed out of the venue once the program came to an end.

Meanwhile, in the player’s draft, the big challenge for the franchise was to balance their team according to their own strategies. As said by Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hassan, the system is not even preferred by the board. However, in order to minimize the bitter experiences of the recent past, including irregular payment of the players, the board went for this system.

Riders from Rangpur, who got a chance to call first for four times, are seemed to be the most balanced side among the six franchises. Except Shakib, Rangpur have also bought Soumya Sarkar, Arafat Sunny, Mohammad Mithun, Muktar Ali, Saqlain Sojib, and Jahurul Islam.

And concerning the foreign cricketers, Rangpur purchased Darren Sammy, Wahab Riaz, Thisara Perera and Lendl Simmons.

BPL, the biggest domestic T20 competition of the country is scheduled to start from November 22 with the opening ceremony fixed to occur two days earlier on November 20.

Posts : 429
Points : 1176
Reputation : 8
Join date : 2011-12-23
Age : 23
Location : Dhaka

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum